Council Committees & Contacts

Council Operating Committees

The operating committees of the council oversee the implementation and support of the Boy Scouts of America program throughout the council’s territory.  Each committee has specific areas of responsibility under the direction of the council executive board and policies and procedures set by the Boy Scouts of America.

council org chart

Activities & Civic Service

Volunteer Chairvacant
Volunteer Vice President of Program:  Lauren Namsupak, lnamsupak@gmail.com
Staff Advisor:  Alex Stout, 304-366-3940, alex.stout@scouting.org
Responsibilites:  camporees, single-day events, weekend events, service projects, service hours reporting

Advancement & Recognition

Volunteer Chairvacant
Volunteer Vice President of Program:  Lauren Namsupak, lnamsupak@gmail.com
Staff Advisor:  Alex Stout, 304-366-3940, alex.stout@scouting.org
Responsibilites:  youth rank advancements, special accommodations for advancement, merit badge offerings, Eagle Scout process and boards of review, volunteer recognition, meritorious awards, council recognition event

Camping & Outdoor Program

Volunteer Chair:  Chad Barker, cbarker777@gmail.com
Staff Advisor:  Alex Stout, 304-366-3940, alex.stout@scouting.org
Responsibilites:  Camp Mountaineer summer camp programs, Order of the Arrow, campsite approvals for Cub Scouts, Cub Scout day camps, unit weekend camping, National Camp Accreditation Program (NCAP), short and long-term camp standards, ropes committee, shooting sports committee, aquatics committee

Training

Volunteer Chair:  Dan Marner, dan@marner.org
Staff Advisor:  Alex Stout, 304-366-3940, alex.stout@scouting.org
Responsibilites:  adult & youth BSA trainings, Youth Protection Training and compliance, other training opportunities

Commissioner Corps

Volunteer Council Commissioner:  Tim Rumble, timrumble3@gmail.com
Staff Advisor: Laurel Muhly-Alexander, 304-366-3940, laurel.muhly-alexander@scouting.org
Responsibilites:  unit commissioners, Scouter Cracker Barrels, unit recharters, operating committee assistance to units

Development

Volunteer Vice Presidentvacant
Staff Advisor
:  Alex Casey, 304-366-3940, alexzandria.casey@scouting.org
ResponsibilitesUnit Money-Earning Application approvals, council fundraising efforts, Friends of Scouting annual giving campaign,  spring product sale (syrup, mix, coffee), fall popcorn sale, Sporting Clays Classic, Distinguished Citizens Dinner (DCD), United Way partnerships, foundation/grant applications, James E. West fellowships

Enterprise Risk Management

Volunteer Vice President:  Dr. Carl Werntz, cwerntz1@gmail.com
Staff Advisor: Scott Hanson, 304-366-3940, scott.hanson@scouting.org
Responsibilites:  incident reporting, council’s supervising physician and health officers, insurance, program risk assessment

Finance

Volunteer Vice President:  Mark Cottrill, mark@mwcottrill.com
Staff Advisor:  Scott Hanson, 304-366-3940, scott.hanson@scouting.org
Responsibilites
:  council budget and financial statements, internal controls

Membership & Relationships

Volunteer Vice President:  Doug Rouster, dsrscouter@gmail.com
Staff Advisor:  Laurel Muhly-Alexander, 304-366-3940, laurel.muhly-alexander@scouting.org
Responsibilites:  youth recruitment, new unit development, school  and community relationships

Properties

Volunteer Vice President:  Rick Sausen, ricksausen@gmail.com
Staff Advisor: Scott Hanson, 304-366-3940, scott.hanson@scouting.org
Responsibilites:  facility maintenance and improvements at Camp Mountaineer and Council Service Center, pre and post camp inspections