OA Awards

Order of the Arrow Awards

Every year, the Menawngihella Lodge awards the following awards at its Annual Winter Banquet. Some awards require nominations, which will be posted here on this page where applicable.

First Year Arrowman Award

Any first year Arrowman who completes the requirements will be awarded the Menawngihella First Year Arrowman Award. This includes the First Year Arrowman Pin to be worn on your Lodge Flap. Upon completion of the requirements, you must have them initialed by the Lodge Chief, Vice Chief, Lodge Secretary, Lodge Adviser, Staff Adviser, or the Supreme Chief of the Fire.

Click here for the award form

OA Unit of Excellence Award

As the primary platform where the Scouting program is delivered to youth, the unit is the most vital and important level of the BSA for the Order of the Arrow to support. The Order of the Arrow Unit of Excellence Award seeks to identify those units, and the leaders within them, who excel at incorporating the OA into their annual planning. The OA Unit of Excellence Award criteria recognize units that invite the lodge to: 

  • Conduct quality unit elections
  • Participate in lodge events and meetings
  • Operate a complete OA Unit Representative program.

Our hope is that units that complete these criteria will benefit from the support programs that the Order of the Arrow has implemented to strengthen unit-delivered program.

Founder's Award

Introduced at the 1981 National Order of the Arrow Conference, the Founder’s Award recognizes Arrowmen who have given outstanding service to their lodge. The award is reserved for an Arrowman who demonstrates that he or she personifies the spirit of selfless service, as advocated by founder E. Urner Goodman and cofounder Carroll A. Edson.

The award is a handsome bronze medallion bearing the likenesses of E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson, with a wooden base and a brass plate suitable for engraving. Available for uniform wear is a gold-colored arrow suspended from a red ribbon. 

Presented annually at the Lodge Banquet. Lodge will communicate the process for nominations via email.

Menawngihella Lodge Scholarship

The 2021 Lodge Executive Committee voted to introduce a higher education scholarship to be awarded to one Lodge Member every year. 

Application details coming soon!

Arrowman of the Year Award

This award celebrates one youth member who goes above and beyond the call of duty and serves their unit, the Menawngihella Lodge, and the Mountaineer Area Council with outstanding servant leadership.